[Skip to Content]

SECAC 2020 Award Recipients


SECAC is delighted to announce the winners of the 2019-2020 award cycle. 

SECAC Award for Excellence in Teaching

Awarded in recognition of outstanding teaching by a SECAC member who demonstrates an exceptional command of his or her discipline through the ability to teach effectively, impart knowledge, and inspire students. 


Heather Stark, Marshall University 

Naomi Falk, University of South Carolina

SECAC Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication

Awarded for outstanding research shown in the recent publication (within the last two years) of a book, article or series of articles.


K.L.H Wells, Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee for Weaving Modernism: Postwar Tapestry between Paris and New York, Yale University Press, 2019

SECAC Award for Outstanding Exhibition and Catalogue of Contemporary Materials

Awarded in recognition of an exhibition (within the last two years) of historical materials, which by its design, installation, and/or catalog is considered exemplary.


Jared Ledesma, Associate Curator, Des Moines Art Center for Queer Abstraction at the Des Moines Art Center, June 1–September 8, 2019

2020 SECAC Artist’s Fellowship

The SECAC Fellowship was established in 1981 for the purpose of supporting member artists and to encourage individual creative growth, the development of new ideas for exhibitions and creative projects.

Recipient: Anthony Bingham, Praise House

Honorable mention: Alice Pixley Young, Ghost Grove

The William R. Levin Award for Research in the History of Art

Thanks to the generosity of William R. Levin, Professor Emeritus at Centre College, Danville, KY, SECAC offers two awards, of a minimum amount of $5000 each, to art historians who are members of the organization.Dr. Levin endowed the first award in 2013 to encourage and recognize research in art history; his generous gift in 2018 endowed a second award. The first of these awards supports Research in the History of Art Before 1750; the second is now designated to support Research in the History of Art Since 1750.

Recipient of Levin Award for Research of the History of Art before 1750
Recipient: Hallie Meredith, Clinical Assistant Professor at Washington State University for her project “Fragmentary and Unfinished Art: Documenting Undocumented Late Roman Art and Process.”


Recipient of the Levin Award for Research in the History of Art since 1750
Recipient: Monica Steinberg, Assistant Professor at University of Hong Kong for her project “Inventing Lives: Fictional Artistic Practice in the Shadow of Cold War Hollywood.”

SECAC President’s Awards

The following awards are presented by SECAC President Sandra Reed (Professor of Art School of Art & Design, Marshall University) in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of distinguished SECAC members. 

Certificate of Merit 

Given to members of long and true standing who have entered into retirement


Betty Crouther, Associate Professor, Art History, retired - Department of Art & Art History - The University of Mississippi


Award of Distinction

Given to recognize former officers of the organization


Kerr Houston, Editor, Art Inquiries, 2018, 2019, and 2020 issues - Professor of Art History - Dept. of Art History, Theory and Criticism

Maryland Institute College of Art


Award of Exemplary Achievement

The organization's most prestigious award, given in recognition of personal and professional development as well as long-standing service to SECAC


Kevin Concannon, Professor of Art History and Director, retired - School of Visual Arts - Virginia Tech


Service to the Arts

Given in recognition of lasting impact on SECAC and its members


William R. Levin, Professor Emeritus of Art History - Centre College



Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Awards

To recognize the exceptional work of those individuals historically underrepresented in SECAC, higher education, and arts institutions, applications are now being accepted for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Awards, which cover the cost of conference registration plus two years of SECAC membership for five recipients.


Millian Pham Lien Giang, The University of Alabama

Georgina Gluzman, Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas, Universidad de San Andres

Sadia Kamran, Institute for Art and Culture, Lahore, Pakistan

Joo Kim, University of Central Florida

Rikiesha Metzger, Maryland Institute College of Art

Daniel Esquivia Zapata, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana de Bogotá